Running Wild

095

Let’s be honest…

Long runs suck, but have moments (and miles) of glorious-ness.

The same could be said of all runs, depending on who you’re talking to.

This morning, I finished my longest training run to date.

It may have been my longest run ever.

Certainly the longest since my senior year of high school Cross Country Season – and I’m not even sure we ran this far then.

When you’re done with a long training run…

You’re exhausted, but giddy on a runner’s high.

You’re sore, but proud of what you accomplished.

As I iced my tired legs yesterday, I thought of my top 10 reasons for loving to run:

  1. Runner’s High. Nothing is better than the feeling when you’re done with a run. No matter how tough or easy the run is, when you’re done, you just feel good. Tired, but good.
  2. Sleep. When I run on a regular basis, I sleep like a baby (assuming that Owen lets me).
  3. Thinking. During runs (especially long runs outside), I let my brain go. I work through frustrations and stresses, think about my goals, daydream. Lately, my thoughts have turned to the story I’m working on.
  4. Runner’s butt and legs. Enough said.
  5. Abdominal workout. Your core is an integral part of running. It’s a great way to get in an ab workout without thinking about it.
  6. Feeling of accomplishment. Looking back over the week to see that I finished all my training runs. Finishing my weekly long run. All of this reinforces that you can put whatever you put your mind to.
  7. Mental toughness. I firmly believe that running is 90% mental. There have been times that my legs feel fine, but my brain tries to convince me that I can’t go on. I hit the metaphorical wall. You have to learn to bust through that wall.
  8. Eating habits. When I run regularly, I feel better and healthier. It makes me rethink eating a bunch of crap food.
  9. Treadmill time = Netflix. A great excuse to catch up on (or discover) shows on Netflix. This is how I got hooked on Supernatural last week.
  10. Ease of entry. Unlike other sports, you don’t need very much to get started – just a pair of shoes. You can always get fancy and buy the GPS watch and running outfits, but it’s your choice. None of that is required to be a runner.

Your turn!

Do you run? What are your top 10 reasons for loving to run? Top 10 reasons why you hate to run?

Let me know what you're thinking!